MenagerieDe La Salle through the years
De La Salle through the years

A hundred years have passed since the University was founded. In those one hundred years, many changes occurred to create the La Salle we all know today. Below are some of the important changes that have happened in the University.


1. DLSC transfers to Taft

In 1920, the then De La Salle College (DLSC) campus was transferred to Taft Ave. Prior to its transfer, DLSC was located in Paco, Manila.


2. The completion of St. La Salle Hall

The iconic St. La Salle Hall was competed on Dec. 15, 1924. It is the oldest building on campus and arguably the most recognizable. Classes for the College of Business and School of Economics are held here.


3. Establishment of the SC

The University’s Student Council (now the University Student Government) was officially established in 1965. Prior to this, formal student representation in the University was seen through the La Salle Student Services Organization (LASSO).


4. DLSC becomes a University

Originally established as De La Salle College (DLSC), DLSU was only recognized as a University on Feb. 19, 1975. The University received the recognition after then Secretary of Education, Dr. Juan Manuel, changed its status from “College” to “University”. Becoming a University is an indication of an institution’s growing number of academic programs, student population and overall quality of education.


5. DLSU turns Co-Ed

During its earlier years as an academic institution, DLSU catered exclusively to male students. It was only during the late 1960s that the proposal to turn “Co-Ed” (or to admit female students) was raised. Initially, the proposal met much opposition; students complained that it was too much of a change in environment, and that it was unnecessary. Even with much controversy surrounding the proposal, the early 1970s saw the entry of the first batch of female students into the University.

To date, La Salle Greenhills is the only remaining Lasallian school in the world that has an exclusive male student population.


6. The Trimestral System

DLSU did not always have a trimestral system. Prior to its ratification in the early 1980s, DLSU, like most Philippine universities followed a semestral calendar. The University is one of the first universites in the country to adopt such a system. The University sought to create a more efficient academic calendar, at the same time, increase its revenues.


7. DLSU joins the UAAP

After several successful years in the National Collegiate Athletics Association (NCAA), DLSU transferred to the University Athletics Association of the Philippines (UAAP), in 1986 where some of its old rivals such as Ateneo de Manila University (ADMU) and the University of Sto. Thomas (UST) were competiting. Due to its league transfer, DLSU was forced to drop its then juniors counterpart, LSGH, as a requirement to join the league.

De La Salle Zobel (DLSZ), was chosen as their new Juniors team.


8. Adaptation of the transformative learning scheme

In 2005, DLSU began the shift from a traditional learning pedagogy to the current transformative learner centered approach, commonly referred to as transformative learning. Prior to the implementation of transformative learning, classes were heavily dependent on the professor. The transformative learning scheme paved the way for greater student participation through group activities and student research.