UniversityLegislative Assembly installs college magistrates and committee heads in first session
Legislative Assembly installs college magistrates and committee heads in first session
May 24, 2014
May 24, 2014

Stock Photo


The Legislative Assembly (LA) had its first session of academic year 2014-2015 today, May 23, at the Y307 Conference Room. Included in the agenda of the session was the election of college magistrates and committee heads.

The first resolution called for the approval of Harold Pasion as the College of Liberal Arts (CLA) magistrate. A closed door session was called by EXCEL2015 LA Representative Micah Fernando so the representatives could decide in private. When the session was re-opened, Pasion was again brought to the floor and was asked a few more questions. Afterwards, a motion was raised to approve Pasion as CLA magistrate.

Nineteen representatives unanimously voted for Pasion. The next resolutions focused on the appointment of the other college magistrates. Angel Pascual of the School Of Economics (SOE) was next to be evaluated by the representatives, afterwhich the resolution calling for her appointment of SOE magistrate was unanimously approved.

Marc Santos of the Br. Andrew Gonzalez College of Education (BAGCED) was the next candidate brought to the floor. After answering the questions of the LA representatives, Santos was proclaimed BAGCED magistrate after garnering sixteen votes for his installation, with two representatives voting for abstain. Michael Matawaran was named as the Ramon V. Del Rosario College of Business (RVR-COB) college magistrate, while Nadine Martinez was installed as the College Of Science’s college magistrate

The election of committee heads proceeded the college magistrate appointments. The positions of chairperson, vice chairperson, and secretary of each committee were up for nominations.

The Rules and Policies Committee nominated FAST2011 Representative Wendy Penafiel for the chairperson position, BLAZE2015 Representative Kiara Lin for vice chairperson, and EDGE2012 Representative Geanne Custodio for secretary.

For the Students Rights and Welfare committee, EXCEL2015 Representative Micah Fernando was nominated as chairperson, 67th ENG Representative Abe Lozada for vice chairperson, and FAST2013 Representative Bea Marquez for secretary.

For the final group, the National Affairs committee, FAST2012 Representative Bianca Soriano was nominated for chairperson, EDGE2013 Representative Reigner Sanchez for vice chairperson, and 68th ENG Representative Adrianne Ardon for secretary

The representatives mentioned were elected in the positions they were nominated for afterwards. The magistrates will serve as the LA’s point persons for each college, while the committee heads will lead the assembly in all activites related to their field.