In Brief: LSDS hosts Asian schools debate for the last time

The La Salle Debate Society (LSDS), with its goal of spreading debating inside and outside DLSU, pioneered the Asian Schools Debate Championships last year. The first of its kind, ASDC is a debate tournament for high school students across Asia.

ASDC was again held in DLSU this year with three Asian regions represented and over 250 participants. It was held Sept. 4–9 and was culminated at the Teresa Yuchengco Auditorium.

This year, LSDS decided to cast the net wider and allow its brainchild to be expanded to different parts of Asia. The debate society put up the hosting of the tournament for a bid under a newly created Asian Schools Debate Council.

The eventual winner of the bid was South Korea’s Daewon Foreign Languages School, which competed against a bid from a Philippine institution Claret School of Quezon City.

The Asian Schools Debate Council agreed to have Lasallian adjudication in the succeeding years of ASDC as acknowledgement to DLSU, which pioneered the tournament in the first place.

With this decision, to let go of ASDC, LSDS decided to revive the National Asian’s Debate Championships (NashDC), a national championship for Philippine High School debaters.

The winner of this year’s ASDC is Ateneo High School Team 2 composed of Anton Sison, Javier Pablo and Vincent Soriano. Daewon Foreign Language School’s Jeewon Yoo won the Best Speaker Award.

The LaSallian

By The LaSallian

Leave a Reply