DLSAA holds One La Salle Night of Excellence

On April 19, 2013, the De La Salle Alumni Association (DLSAA) held its annual One La Salle Night of Excellence to recognize the varied achievements of Lasallian alumni.

DLSAA President Johnny Sy also launched the Lasallian Alumni Athletes’ Assistance Fund, a project which aims to solicit funds for former Lasallian athletes in need of financial assistance.
According to Sy, this comes as a response to King Archer Lim Eng Beng’s concern for other alumni athletes who are not as popular and who are in need of aid.

Awards and Awardees
The Lasallian Sports Achievement Awards were awarded to Delfin Anthony Adriano (Archery), Johansen Benedict Aguilar (Swimming), Roland Peter Kraut (Tennis), Stephanie Merry Pheasant (Football), Patrick Unso (Athletics), and the DLSU Dragon Boat Team.

Given the Sports Hall of Fame Awards were Ramon Brobio (Golf), Lino Castillejo, Jr. (Football), Eugenio “Gene” Gonzales (Fencing), Stephen Fernandez (Taekwondo), and Zandro “Jun” Limpot (Basketball).

Meanwhile, the following were granted the Lasallian Achievement Awards for achievements in their respective fields: singer-songwriter Ogie Alcasid, Jr., Jose Camacho for banking and finance, Governor of Bataan Enrique Garcia, Jr., Delfin Gonzales, Jr. for his performance as CFO of several corporations, investment banker Guillermo Luchangco, and General Jose Mabanta, Jr.

Ramon Del Rosario, Jr. AFSC and the late Ramon Del Rosario were awarded the Order of Madame de Maillefer for their efforts in making education more accessible to the less fortunate. Former Executive Vice President of DLSU Paulino Yu Tan and the late teacher Josefina Alburo AFSC were honored with the Distinguished Lasallian Award.

Henry Atayde, Antonio Atayde, Jr., and Dondon Atayde III were each granted the Brother Benedict Award for their contributions and dedicated service to DLSAA.

The DLSAA President’s Award was given to Br. Bernard Oca, FSC for his role in steering the University to garner its first ever General Championship in the UAAP.

By Dana Uson

20 replies on “DLSAA holds One La Salle Night of Excellence”

Leave a Reply