DLSU CSO launches 2017 Lasallian Excellence Awards

The Council of Student Organizations (CSO) launched the 2017 Lasallian Excellence Awards (LEA) last March 3 at the 20th floor Multi-Purpose Hall of the Br. Andrew Gonzalez Hall, with the theme, “kaLEAdoscope: Leadership in Different Colors and Perspectives”. DLSU President Br. Raymundo Suplido FSC and Chancellor Dr. Gerardo Janairo were also present for the ribbon cutting, which jump-started the event.


LEA is an annual campus-wide event which “serves as an avenue for recognizing outstanding individuals and organizations who manifest their talents, intelligence, professionalism, and dedication for their passion or commitment.”

During an introductory speech of the award categories, Award Giving Bodies (AGB) Co-Project Head Jayrene Cruz further explains that the event “aims to recognize several members of the Lasallian community who exemplify what a Lasallian student leader should be in more ways than one.”

There are three categories for the awards. The first is the Students’ Search for Outstanding Teachers, which commends the exemplary work that faculty members have exhausted to provide quality Lasallian education. Second is The Outstanding Co-Eds The Outstanding Young Men, which applauds graduating students who exemplify what it means to be a Lasallian Christian achiever. Lastly, the Harvest of Winners recognizes the working efforts of various organizations under CSO, together with their officers and activities.

“All three awards undergo a rigorous process that comprise of fair and strict regulations to maintain the quality of the selection process,” Cruz adds.

The application period for the awards will start on March 6, while the requirements will be made available on March 5. AGB Co-Project Head Angel Pascual encourages all DLSU students and accredited organizations to apply for recognition. “We’re also encouraging everyone to vote for their professors in the upcoming Students’ Search for Outstanding Teachers. For the first time, nominations will be done via our My.LaSalle accounts,” she explains.

“These achievers portray the essence of what excellence is all about. They continue to inspire future generations of student leaders to constantly seek for knowledge. Let us remember that excellence is best shown by outperforming ourselves rather than outperforming others,” CSO Chairperson Alfred Algara concludes.

Ian Benedict Mia

By Ian Benedict Mia

Leave a Reply