Teams of the Year: Green Paddlers and Lady Paddlers

The DLSU Green Paddlers and Lady Paddlers achieved a rare feat this season by capturing back-to-back double championships in the UAAP Season 78 Table Tennis Tournament held at the Ninoy Aquino Stadium last October. Both teams entered the competition as defending champions and they picked up from where they left off, finishing this season with both titles and finishing with stellar performances that solidified their status as a table tennis powerhouse.

Kevin Prudon []

The Green Paddlers ended their first and second round campaigns with a total of 13 wins and only a single blemish after succumbing to the UST Growling Tigers in their first game. They faced the NU Bulldogs in a tough five-game semifinal match, with DLSU clinching a 3-2 win to advance to the finals. The Taft-based squad managed to defend their crown as they beat UST in two thrilling games.

Meanwhile, the Lady Paddlers swept their way through the preliminary round and skipped the semifinals, proving that they were a cut above the rest. Due to this feat, they easily advanced to the finals with a thrice-to-beat advantage. In the finals, the Lady Paddlers defeated the FEU Tamaraws in two games to clinch the title.

The Green Paddlers succeeded in completing a three-peat, while the Lady Paddlers were able to secure their second straight championship, their third in four years. Among the other teams representing the University, both teams have the sole distinction of clinching all the titles in a single sport, a feat that becomes even more amazing given that La Salle also clinched both table tennis titles in the Juniors division.

While the success of the both teams can be attributed to the collective efforts of the team’s players, several Lasallians stood out by displaying their skills consistently this season. In the Men’s division, team captain Walden Ledesma captured his second Most Valuable Player trophy this season after compiling one of the best individual records in the division. Freshman Carlo Mateo, meanwhile, was named the Season 78 Rookie of the Year.

In the women’s division, Yan Lariba earned her third UAAP MVP trophy after finishing her UAAP playing career going undefeated in individual match-ups. Emy Dael rounded out DLSU’s sweep of the awards by winning the Rookie of the Year award.


Honorable mentions: Baseball, Lady Woodpushers, Lady Spikers

Josef Fuentebella

By Josef Fuentebella

Renz Lucas

By Renz Lucas

Leave a Reply