UAAP: Lady Tracksters take first-ever Women’s Athletics crown, Green Tracksters finish seventh in valiant effort

The DLSU Green and Lady Tracksters each brought pride to their alma mater in their most recent campaign, with the latter making history in the UAAP Season 86 Athletics Championships last November 22 to 26 at the Philsports Arena in Pasig. La Salle dominated the Women’s Division, claiming their first-ever UAAP title with an overall tally of 301 points—33 markers more than runners-up FEU Tamaraws. On the other hand, the Men’s team settled for seventh place in the standings after a hard-fought campaign.

A group effort

The Lady Tracksters excelled in multiple events, bagging the UAAP Season 86 Athletics Championship Title, redeeming themselves from last year’s silver finish. La Salle’s very own Bernalyn Bejoy was named Most Valuable Player (MVP) after contributing to several wins, including twinner golds in the Women’s 400-meter and 800-meter Hurdles and a bronze for the Women’s 200-meter.

Senior Lady Trackster Daniel Daynata broke the UAAP record for the Women’s Discus Throw at her second throw. As it is her last year of playing in the UAAP scene, Daynata surpassed her own record on her fifth try with 44.81 points. According to Daynata, her back-to-back record is a “good exit” and an incredible improvement that brought the team to the championship title they longed for.

Everything proved to be a team effort as each jersey contributed to the championship-clinching stash of accolades. Abcd Agamanos made sure her presence was known as she snatched a gold medal in the Women’s 100-meter hurdles. More so, it rained silver discs as Jessel Lumapas for the Women’s 400-meter, Ann Katherin Kitoy for Javelin Throw, Daynata for the Shot Put event, Trexie De La Torre for the Long Jump, and Agamanos for the Triple Jump became the runners-up of their respective events. There was also no shortage of bronze medals as Lumapas in the Women’s 100-meter, Ana Marie Eugenio in the Women’s 1500-meter, Daynata in the Javelin Throw, and Mica Cabaddu in the Women’s Heptathlon cemented third-best placings.

On the other side of the oval, the Green Tracksters starred in a more angsty story as they delivered a 27-point outing that resulted in them taking seventh place overall. Francis Obiena—cousin of men’s Pole Vault World second-ranked EJ Obiena—continued to make a name for himself as he snatched the lone podium finish of the Green and White. He cemented a silver medal in the men’s pole vault category.

Winning together

The Green and Lady Tracksters also brought home glory in many of the team events. In the Women’s Division, the quartet of Bejoy, Lumapas, Hannah Delotavo, and Erica Ruto bagged a record-breaking gold in the 4×400-meter relay. Furthermore, another top podium finish and new record was achieved by the latter three alongside De La Torre in the 4×100-meter relay. In the Mixed Division, Bejoy, Agamanos, France Velasquez, and Reymark Godoy secured the bronze for La Salle in the 4x100m Relay.

The heroes of the gratifying run expressed nothing but pride and gratitude as they highlighted the importance of winning their awards for La Salle and being able to showcase their talents to the Lasallian community. “Grateful [ako] kasi na-represent ko ang school at nagawa ko ang best ko since personal best ko ito,” said De La Torre.

(I am grateful because I represented the school and did my best. This was my personal best so far.)

On a different note, Agamanos emphasized the need for more fan support for the field of athletics instead of the conventional major sports, saying, “More support po sa athletics, hindi lang po sa ibang sports.”

(We need more support for athletics, not just other sports.)

After successfully avenging their Season 85 runner-up campaign this season, the Lady Tracksters are left with the more daunting task of maintaining the status quo and defending their championship next season. Meanwhile, there is no way to go but up for the Green Tracksters as they aim to improve their second-to-the-last ranking in another chance to dash to the podium come Season 87.

Angel Migue

By Angel Migue

Aren Reyes

By Aren Reyes

John Rei Salanga

By John Rei Salanga

Leave a Reply