UniversityDLSAA honors Lasallians in One La Salle Night of Excellence
DLSAA honors Lasallians in One La Salle Night of Excellence
April 25, 2015
April 25, 2015

One La Salle Night of Excellence (OLSNOE), a biennial awarding ceremony hosted by the De La Salle Alumni Association (DLSAA), was held last April 24 at the Teresa Yuchengco Auditorium to recognize outstanding Lasallian groups and individuals in their respective fields. 

CNEL-5871 (1)

“Our 2015 awardees are being honored tonight for their dedication, passion and excellence in their crafts, imbued by their holistic Lasallian education,” expressed by DLSAA President Dr. Derrick Yu in his opening remarks. “The entire Lasallian community gratefully celebrates our honorees for the affirmation of the Lasallian excellence in teaching minds, touching hearts, transforming lives, and the eventual engagement of their Lasallian animo for God and country.” 

The roots of the OLSNOE date back to 1950, when it was initiated by the late Br. J. Benedict FSC as an avenue to give recognition to outstanding alumni from various fields. In 1996, the award was known as the “Distinguished Lasallian Award” that did not have any specific classifications or categories.

After Br. Benedict’s passing in 2003, the DLSAA sought to restructure the awards in order to better recognize the notable achievements of the Lasallian community. By 2005, the DLSAA Honors and Awards System, a more formal and systematized awarding process, was developed. It also consisted of a wider range of awards and categories. 

The awarding system criteria for nomination include achieving distinction and unusual positive recognition in their chosen fields, bringing honor and glory to their Alma Mater, community or country, and performing beyond normal expectations in DLSAA’s chapters, among others. 

For this year, awardees for the various categories of the OLSNOE include the following: 


  • DLSAA Distinguished Lasallian Awardees
      1. National Artist Cirilo F. Bautista  *
      2. Br. Gus L. Boquer FSC
      3. Senator Ramon B. Magsaysay Jr.
      4. Justice Teodoro R. Padilla † **
      5. Hans T. Sy


      1. (Basketball) Alfred P. Almario †
      2. (Swimming) Eric R. Buhain
      3. (Football) Enrique Ma. R. Llamas †
      4. (Football) Daniel M. Moran
      5. (Football) Michael M. Moran
      6. (Contribution to DLSU Sports) Br. Bernard S. OCA FSC
      7. (Football Coach) Hans-Peter V. Smit


  • DLSAA Lasallian Achievement Award
      1. (Deaf Education) Ana Kristina M. Arce
      2. (Medicine) Dr. Raul V. Destura
      3. (Banking and Finance) Renato T. De Guzman
      4. (Technical Skills Education) Alejandro T. Escano
      5. (Marketing Education) Josiah L. Go
      6. (Peace Advocacy) Franz G. Ontal
      7. (Economics Education) Tereso S. Tullao Jr., PhD
      8. (Global Broadcasting) Cathy Y. Yang


    1. (Volleyball) Charleen Abigaile R. Cruz
    2. (Chess) Jan Jodilyn P. Fronda
    3. (Archery) Luis Gabriel M. Moreno
    4. (Lawn Tennis) Ma. Regina D. Santiago
    5. (Sports Broadcasting) Anthony R. Suntay
    6. 1975 LSGH NCAA Junior Football Team
    7. 1976-1978 DLSU Women’s Basketball Team
    8. BRAFE Golf Core Group


Each awardee from the various categories delivered an acceptance speech, expressing their gratitude and pride for DLSU. 

For the DLSAA Sports Achievement Award, Albert Garcia, head of the BRAFE Golf Core Group, gave a speech on behalf of all awardees of the category. On the other hand, Br. Bernard Oca FSC gave a speech on behalf of the DLSAA Sports Hall of Fame awardees.

In his acceptance speech after being lauded the President’s Award, DLSAA Board Director and Committee Chair for Honors and Awards Manuel Blanco quoted former Harvard President Lawrence Lowell in saying, “The best accreditation of a college or university is the quality and success in life of its graduates.”

Blanco shared his sentiments, adding, “I am indeed truly privileged to have been instrumental with helping my Alma Mater in recognizing these successful and outstanding Lasallian men and women. My heartfelt thanks to the nine DLSAA past presidents who gave me their trust and confidence, most specially to current president Derrick Yu for this prestigious award, which I would like to share with the members of the exemplary and sports honor committees throughout these years. You know who you are. Animo La Salle!” 

According to Dr. Yu, six Lasallian schools were involved in this year’s awards — the highest number in its history — namely DLSU-Manila, DLSU-College of St. Benilde, La Salle Green Hills, De La Salle Santiago Zobel, De La Salle Health Sciences Institute, and University of St. La Salle.

The event also featured performances by the DLSU Contemporary Dance Company, DLSU Dance Company Folk, DLSU Chorale, and a special performance by an alumni singer and guitarist.


* Award received by nephew.

** Award received by son.