DLSU Faculty, student researchers recognized

The annual VCRI Faculty Members and Students’ Research Recognition Ceremonies was held last October 8 at the 4th floor of the Henry Sy Sr. Hall to acknowledge the achievements of the University’s faculty members and students who made contributions to research in the past year.

In his opening message, Vice Chancellor for Research and Innovation Dr. Raymond Tan spoke of the University’s milestone achievements that must be celebrated. Aside from being the only private Philippine university to be part of the Times Higher Education (THE) Rankings this year, Tan also acknowledged that De La Salle University (DLSU) has reached over 3,000 publications listed in the Scopus database.

Students and faculty were placed in various categories. 184 faculty members were recognized in the first category, which acknowledged those who had papers published in journals listed on either Scopus, the International Scientific Indexing (ISI) list, or the Commission on Higher Education (CHED) list.

For the second category, 166 undergraduate and graduate students were recognized, including one Senior High School student who was able to get his own paper published. 75 faculty members who completed externally-funded projects were also recognized for their efforts.



Aside from recognizing those with papers published in the past year, faculty members who have reached milestones in publication throughout their career were awarded. Among those recognized for Scopus publication were Tan, who has accumulated over 250 Scopus-listed articles, the highest in the University so far; University Fellows Dr. Consolacion Ragasa with over 225 listed articles and Dr. Elmer Dadios with over 175 listed articles; and Industrial Engineering Department professor Dr. Kathleen Aviso with over 100 listed articles. 50 more professors with at least five listed articles were also recognized.

Professors who authored or co-authored books were also praised. Literature professors Genaro Gojo Cruz, Mesandel Arguelles, and Dr. John Iremil Teodoro, and Theology and Religious Education professor Dr. Agnes Brazal were all honored for having at least 10 books published.

Faculty members serving as Editors in Chief of Scopus and ISI-listed Journals were also acknowledged. These were Angelo King Institute Director and University Fellow Dr. Tereso Tullao for heading DLSU Business and Economics Review, Behavioral Science professor Dr. Romeo Lee for heading Asia-Pacific Social Science Review, Tan for heading Process Integration and Optimization for Sustainability, and College of Liberal Arts Dean Dr. Jazmin Llana for heading Performance Research.

Faculty members with the most cited Scopus papers in the areas of Science and Technology, Business and Social Sciences, and Humanities and Education for the years 2017 and 2018, and retired faculty members who contributed to the enrichment of research at DLSU rounded out the list. Former University Research and Coordination Office Director and Psychology Department professor Dr. Magdalene Sta. Maria and University Fellow Dr. Florencia Claveria were recognized as the retiring faculty members and gave inspiring messages to conclude the event.

Gershon De La Cruz

By Gershon De La Cruz

Ryan Lim

By Ryan Lim

Leave a Reply