LA approves remaining EXECOM, batch gov’t appointments in second emergency session

After postponing some appointments last week, the University Student Government (USG) Legislative Assembly (LA) completed the turnovers of some USG officials in another emergency session on Zoom last October 21. 

New Chief Legislator, Executive Board members

Legislators unanimously elected CATCH2T21 LA Representative Jaime Pastor as their new Chief Legislator, following his nomination by Majority Floor Leader Maegan Ragudo. Pastor, the sole nominee for the post, bared plans to introduce training programs for future LA representatives—as a way of implementing a resolution passed in the previous session—and to offer “perspective” when making amendments to documents such as the USG Constitution and the LA Manual.

BLAZE2022 LA Representative Giorgina Escoto was also unanimously elected as the Minority Floor Leader, filling the vacant position left by former FAST2017 LA Representative Neal Gonzales’ resignation in the last session. Escoto laid down her planned initiatives which include requiring the use of gender-neutral pronouns in future resolutions, creating an “efficient enlistment task force”; drafting a college-specific Student Services manual; and drawing an emergency fund for the Disaster Risk Reduction Management Ad Hoc Committee, a new working group that was approved in their last session.

Meanwhile, the position of USG Executive Secretary was formally handed over to Annika Silangcruz, the office’s chief of staff, replacing Earl Joseph Baillo, who previously resigned. Likewise, Miguel Santos, the Documentation and Logistics Chairperson of the Office of the Treasurer, was appointed as the new USG Executive Treasurer, following the resignation of Kevin Wu, who has already completed all his undergraduate terms.

Among Silangcruz’ platforms are preparations for the previously postponed constitutional plebiscite, the continuation of the transparency reports initiative, and the execution of training sessions for the LA, especially for the recently appointed legislators. Santos, on the other hand, intends to work on an online Christmas Bazaar, data collection on tuition and fees concerns, and the Lasallian Scholars Program.

College, batch government appointments

The LA also appointed replacements for the College Presidents who resigned in the last session. Lyka Samson, Carlo Santos, and Michelle Orbeta were designated as the new chief executives of the Ramon V. del Rosario College of Business (RVRCOB), College of Computer Studies, and the College of Liberal Arts (CLA), respectively.

Samson told the body her plans to help first year RVRCOB students transition into college by launching a Business College Government website to help clarify the role of the Student Services department. She also plans to continue the programs introduced by former College President Nathan Driz and build better connections with the ID 120 students and the different college departments.

Santos, meanwhile, stated that he would continue gathering student feedback on online classes and redistributing Wi-Fi kits to students in need. 

On the other hand, Orbeta cited plans to expand the Arts College Government website, continue partnerships with home organizations in the college, and further coordinate with CLA Dean Dr. Rhoderick Nuncio on any future matters. 
For batch government seats, Sabine Gonda was appointed as EDGE2019 Batch President, Isabella Lardizabal as EDGE2019 Batch Vice President, Kurt Lewis Dela Cruz as BLAZE2021 Batch Vice President, Jericho Christian Quitevis as BLAZE2021 LA Representative, Chelsie Torres as EXCEL2020 Batch Vice President, and Lorenzo Angelo Amado as EXCEL2020 LA Representative.

ERRATUM: October 25, 2020. 6:25 pm

In the original version of the article, Giorgina Escoto was incorrectly referred to as as the BLAZE2020 LA Representative instead of the BLAZE2022 LA Representative. The publication apologizes for the error.

Deo Cruzada

By Deo Cruzada

Dustin Albert Sy

By Dustin Albert Sy

Chloe Novenario

By Chloe Novenario

Leave a Reply