DLSU honors Lasallian educators in Lasallian Mentors’ Week 2023

Lasallian Mentors’ Week (LMW) 2023, with the theme Promoting self-care, was held in both the Manila and Laguna campuses from January 23 to 27. Film viewings, hobby sessions, and thanksgiving masses were some of the activities that the University prepared for its yearly appreciation of Lasallian educators and mentors.

The University Student Government (USG) also prepared a dedication booth at the Henry Sy Sr. Hall Grounds in Manila campus where students could send messages to their professors and mentors throughout the week-long celebration. 

On Facebook, the USG also shared a video of interviews with professors and faculty advisers about their experience as Lasallian educators and members of the community, along with students describing their ideal Lasallian mentor.  “Holistic”, “inspiring”, “understanding”, and “fostering” were some of their descriptions. One student wanted their Lasallian mentors to feel appreciated by “simply thanking and appreciating their hard work, and for all of their time and effort they put into mentoring.”

The Laguna Campus Student Government (LCSG) also prepared various activities to celebrate their mentors, such as a karaoke space at the Fun and Collab Space in George S. K. Ty Advanced Instrumentation Building and a freedom wall at the Milagros R. del Rosario Building.

“Now that we are celebrating Lasallian Mentors’ Week, it’s time that we give back to the major community who are providing their service for us. It’s time that we give them the service and breathers that they need and provide them with something that they really deserve,” LCSG President Angel Lopez said in an interview with The LaSallian.

The 11th Annual Pillars of Lasallian Educators Excellence Awards was also held last January 25 at the Natividad Fajardo-Rosario Gonzalez Auditorium in Br. Andrew Gonzalez Hall to celebrate and recognize outstanding Lasallian educators, authors, and researchers. Various awards inspired by the four Lasallian saints as “pillars” were given along with other minor awards for their contributions to the academe and society.

Dr. Chona Camille Abelado received the St. Jaime Hilario Pillar of Lasallian Excellence Award in Community Engagement, Dr. Luis Razon the St. Miguel Febres Cordero Pillar of Lasallian Excellence Award in Research, and Dr. Esperanza Cabrera the St. Benilde Romançon Pillar of Lasallian Excellence Award in Teaching.

The St. Jean Baptist De La Salle Pillar of Lasallian Excellence Award, the highest distinction,  was given to Dr. Gil Nonato Santos for excelling in all three aspects of Lasallian education—community engagement, research, and teaching.

The St. Miguel Febres Cordero Research Awards were given to the most productive departments in research in the fields of business and social sciences, humanities and education, and science and technology. Divided into small and big departments, the winners of each category were the Department of Marketing and Advertising and the Department of Sociology and Behavioral Sciences under the business and social sciences cluster, the Department of Science Education and the Department of Theology and Religious Education under the humanities and education cluster, and the Department of Manufacturing Engineering and Management and the Department of Chemical Engineering under the science and technology cluster.

Four Lasallian educators were also awarded support for their future projects and a cash prize of P30,000 in the category of Outstanding Book and Monograph in Filipino and English.

Ang Itim Na Orkidyas ng Isla Boracay: Mga Kuwento and Sa Yakap ng Gubat at Dagat ng Palawan: Mga Ekosanaysay by Dr. Genevive Asenjo and Dr. John Iremil Teodoro of the Department of Literature, respectively, won the Filipino category.

Affect, Narratives and Politics of Southeast Asian Migration by Dr. Carlos Piocos III from the Department of Literature and What Kapitan Tiago Served and Padre Damaso Ate by Dr. Jose Victor Torres from the Department of History were the English category winners.

Jezah Mae Bagsit

By Jezah Mae Bagsit

Christopher Go

By Christopher Go

Leave a Reply